Two More Texas Counties Declare Immigration Crisis an ‘Invasion,’ Bringing Total to 29

Last week, two more counties in the state of Texas formally declared the ongoing immigration crisis on the southern border to be an “invasion,” and as such have called for greater security measurements to combat the crisis.

Just The News reports that the counties of Wharton and Burnet both passed resolutions, signed by their respective judges and county commissioners, calling for “additional measures to secure the border, stop the invasion at the border, and protect our communities.”

“Our southern Texas border is suffering an invasion,” the resolutions declare, recognizing the “sovereign and unilateral authority explicitly reserved to the states, respectively, under Article 1, Section 10 of the United States Constitution and Article IV, Section 7 of the Texas Constitution to defend themselves against invasion, which has been exacerbated by the federal government’s failure in meeting its constitutional obligation to ‘insure domestic tranquility,’ ‘provide for the common defense,’ ‘execute the laws,’ and ‘protect each state against invasion.’”

While it is ordered in Article IV, Section 4 of the United States Constitution that the federal government “shall protect” the individual states “against invasion,” the Biden Administration has deliberately done little to combat the historic surge in illegal immigration, primarily due to Biden’s campaign promises that he would let illegals in and provide them with free, taxpayer-funded benefits such as healthcare.

As such, the counties cited Article IV, Section 7 of the Texas Constitution, which dictates that the Governor of Texas – in this case, Governor Greg Abbott (R-Texas) – shall fulfill his duty as commander-in-chief of Texas’ military forces to “suppress insurrections and to repel invasions.”

The counties’ resolutions went on to note that fellow border counties, which are “experiencing local disaster situations as a result of inadequate border security, have passed declarations and resolutions calling for further action and security on the southern Texas border.”

As it stands now, the 29 Texas counties that have formally declared an invasion are: Atascosa, Burnet, Chambers, Clay, Edwards, Ellis, Goliad, Hardin, Hood, Hunt, Jack, Jasper, Johnson, Kinney, Liberty, Live Oak, Madison, Montague, Orange, Parker, Presidio, Terrell, Throckmorton, Tyler, Van Zandt, Wharton, Wichita, Wilson, and Wise.

Get the news corporate media won't tell you.

Get caught up on today's must read stores!

By submitting your information, you agree to receive exclusive AG+ content, including special promotions, and agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms. By providing your phone number and checking the box to opt in, you are consenting to receive recurring SMS/MMS messages, including automated texts, to that number from my short code. Msg & data rates may apply. Reply HELP for help, STOP to end. SMS opt-in will not be sold, rented, or shared.

About Eric Lendrum

Eric Lendrum graduated from the University of California, Santa Barbara, where he was the Secretary of the College Republicans and the founding chairman of the school’s Young Americans for Freedom chapter. He has interned for Young America’s Foundation, the Heritage Foundation, and the White House, and has worked for numerous campaigns including the 2018 re-election of Congressman Devin Nunes (CA-22). He is currently a co-host of The Right Take podcast.

Photo: SAN LUIS, AZ - APRIL 21: Migrants attempt to cross over a fence in to the U.S. from Mexico at the border April 21, 2021 in San Luis, Arizona. (Photo by Nick Ut/Getty Images)