Eleven Republicans Vote With Democrats to Strip Marjorie Taylor Greene of Her Committee Posts

By a vote of 230 to 199, the U.S. House of Representatives voted Thursday to remove Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-Georgia) from her committee posts. Eleven Republican voted with the Democrats to remove Greene from the committees.

Democrats in the House forced the vote after several of Green’s controversial social media posts surfaced, triggering a backlash among liberals.

These are the eleven GOP lawmakers who crossed party lines to punish the freshman Rep. for sharing conspiracy theories  on social media.

Adam Kinzinger
Nicole Malliotakis
John Katko
Fred Upton
Brian Fitzpatrick
Carlos Gimenez
Chris Jacobs
Young Kim
Maria Salazar
Chris Smith
Mario Díaz-Balart

The action was taken after House Democrats pressured Republicans to remove the Georgia Republican of committee assignments on their own. House Republicans refused to take that action, and House GOP leader Kevin McCarthy on Wednesday called the push a “partisan power grab.”

Greene’s defense of herself on the House floor last night, reportedly prompted a standing ovation from some Republican members.


About Debra Heine

Debra Heine is a conservative Catholic mom of six and longtime political pundit. She has written for several conservative news websites over the years, including Breitbart and PJ Media.

Photo: (Photo By Tom Williams/CQ-Roll Call, Inc via Getty Images)

Support Free & Independent Journalism Your support helps protect our independence so that American Greatness can keep delivering top-quality, independent journalism that's free to everyone. Every contribution, however big or small, helps secure our future. If you can, please consider a recurring monthly donation.

Want news updates?

Sign up for our newsletter to stay up to date.

Comments are closed.