Report: At Least 140 GOP House Members Plan to Challenge Electoral College Results on Jan. 6

At least 140 Republican members of the U.S. House of Representatives plan to challenge the electoral vote results on January 6 when Congress meets to certify the next president, CNN reported on Thursday.

Rep. Mo Brooks (R-Ala.), who launched the effort to challenge the “flawed election,” expressed surprise on Twitter that the number of House members joining him had grown that high.

As of Thursday, 29 House Republicans who serve, or will serve—plus Missouri Senator Josh Hawley had announced publicly that they will object to the Electoral College results.

According to Breitbart, those who have announced plans to object include:

Rep. Brian Babin (R-Texas), Rep. Andy Biggs (R-Ariz.), Rep.-elect Lauren Boebert (R-Co.), Rep. Mo Brooks (R-Al.), Rep. Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Rep.-elect Jerry Carl (R-Al.), Rep.-elect Madison Cawthorn (R-N.C.), Rep.-elect Andrew Clyde (R-Georgia), Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-Fla.), Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-Texas), Rep.-elect Bob Good (R-Va.), Rep. Lance Gooden (R-Texas), Rep. Paul Gosar (R-Az.), Rep. Mark Green (R-Tenn.), Rep.-elect Yvette Herrell (R-N.M.), Rep. Jody Hice (R-Georgia), Rep.-elect Ronny Jackson (R-Texas), Rep.-elect Barry Moore (R-Al.), Rep. Ralph Norman (R-S.C.) , Rep.-elect Burgess Owens (R-Utah), Rep.-elect Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-Georgia), Rep. Jeff Van Drew (R-N.J.), Rep. Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.), Rep. Randy Weber (R-Texas), Rep. Clay Higgins (R-La.), Rep. Joe Wilson (R-S.C.), and Rep.-elect Diana Harshbarger (R-Tenn.)

Additionally, eight out of nine Republican lawmakers from Pennsylvania have announced their intentions to challenge the electoral results in a joint statement on Thursday: Reps. Mike Kelly, Dan Meuser, Glenn Thompson, Scott Perry, Lloyd Smucker, Guy Reschenthaler, John Joyce and Fred Keller.

“The Pennsylvania election could be summed up as a free-for-all with no oversight and different standards applied throughout the commonwealth,” the members said.

According to CNN’s Jake Tapper, two GOP House members are claiming that at least 140 congressmen are on board with the Brooks’ effort to challenge the shady results of the 2020 election.

A minimum of one representative and one senator are required to mount an objection that will force an extended debate before Congress counts the votes. So far, Sen. Hawley of Missouri is the only member of the Senate who has announced an intention to object to the 2020 election results.

Former Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach told Breitbart’s Alex Marlow that “there may very well be a big fight in Congress over whether the votes of the electors of those states where they changed the rules without legislative action should be accepted.”

About Debra Heine

Debra Heine is a conservative Catholic mom of six and longtime political pundit. She has written for several conservative news websites over the years, including Breitbart and PJ Media.

Photo: (Photo by Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images)

Support Free & Independent Journalism Your support helps protect our independence so that American Greatness can keep delivering top-quality, independent journalism that's free to everyone. Every contribution, however big or small, helps secure our future. If you can, please consider a recurring monthly donation.

Want news updates?

Sign up for our newsletter to stay up to date.

Comments are closed.